Board of Directors

USA Cheers Inaugural board meeting at the NCA Headquarters in Dallas, Texas. From front to back Emily Burster, Carolyn Shoemaker, Jeff Webb, Bill Seely, Dawn Calitri, T. Lynn Williamson, Karen Halterman, Mike Burgess, Aaron Flaker, Rhonda Blanford Green, Jim Chadwick, David McDowell and Jim Lord.
General Powers.  The affairs of USA Cheer are governed and conducted by a Board of Directors.  The Board of Directors have primary responsibility for the programs of USA Cheer by determining policy and exercising jurisdiction related thereto, and approving actions of any committees it appoints to directly administer or implement these programs.

The Board Make-up. The Board consists of fifteen individuals. Members of the Board may consist of both males and females, and shall be selected without discrimination on the basis of race, color, religion, age, sex, or national origin. 

Election. The following organizations are entitled to elect the number of members of the Board of Directors set forth below:

Active Athletes Assembly - 3 Directors
US All Star Federation (USASF) - 3 Directors
National Federation of State High School Associations (NFHS) - 1 Director
American Association of Cheer Coaches and Administrators (AACCA) - 3 Directors
National Alliance for School Cheerleading (NASC) - 4 Directors
NCAA or Significant Collegiate Athletic Organization - 1 Director

Current Board of Directors and Officers

 Jeff Webb:  President of USA Cheer (NASC Representative)
  • Founder and CEO of Varsity Brands Inc.
  • ESPN Commentator for National Cheerleading Championships
  • Former University of Oklahoma Yell Leader

Dan Kessler: Vice President of USA Cheer (USASF Representative)

Rhonda Blanford Green:  Secretary/Treasurer of USA Cheer (NFHS Representative)

  • Assistant Commissioner of the Colorado High School Activities Association
  • Graduate of University of Wyoming; 12 time All American in indoor and outdoor track, NCAA Champion in 100 HH, Undefeated in Big 8 for entire college career, broke the World Record in the Shuttle Hurdle Relay  

Active Athletes

David McDowell:  Executive Committee Representative for Active Athletes

  • Head Cheer Coach for National Team 
  • Head Cheer Coach for the University of Alabama in 2011
  • Head Coach for University of Florida Cheerleaders 2005-2006
  • Former 4 Year College Cheerleader

Chelsey Kannan:  

  • Cheered at Hawaii Pacific University 
  • Part of the National All Girl Team from 2010-2012
  • Universal Cheerleaders Association Instructor 

Emily Burster:  

  • Graduated from Drexel University 
  • Coaches at Temple University 
  • Does choreography throughout the northeast  

Other Board Members:


 Jim Chadwick

  • President of USASF and IASF
  • Former Cheerleader for University of Utah

 Justin Carrier: 

  • USASF Board of Directors
  • Vice President of NCA 
  • Vice President of Varsity All Star 
  • Coaching Staff for 2011 National Coed Team


 Jim Lord

  • Executive Director of AACCA
  • Former Director of Curriculum for UCA
  • National and International Speaker on Cheerleading Safety

 T. Lynn Williamson
  • Senior Associate General Counsel University of Kentucky
  • 30 Year Spirit Advisor for University of Kentucky

 Carolyn Shoemaker
  • President Florida Cheer Coaches Association
  • Cheerleading Coach and Advisor for Sebring High School
  • AACCA Safety Certifier and Board Member


Jim Thorp 

  • Founder and President Cheerleading Technique Camps and American Championships
  • Kansas State Cheerleader 1984-1988
  • University Of Florida Cheer Coach 1989-1994

 Dawn Calitri

  • President of National Cheerleaders Association and National Dance Alliance
  • Graduate of University of North Texas
  • Over 20 years of involvement in Cheerleading

Mike Burgess
  • President United Spirit Association (USA)
  • Vice President of USASF
Bookmark and Share